eSwatini is one of the smallest countries in Africa. It covers an area of about 17, 500 sq. km and has a population of around 1.1 million. eSwatini uses a system of government that it inherited from the British colonial system in conjunction with the traditional system of local councils presided over by the King. There are four administrative districts, Hhohho, Manzini, Shiselweni and Lubombo. Each district has a Ministry of Education office that is headed by a District Education Officer.