Uganda is a land locked country located to the eastern part of the African continent, having a total surface area of 241,039 square kilometres.  It is bordered by Sudan to the north, Kenya to the east, Tanzania to the south, Rwanda to the southwest and the Democratic Republic of Congo to the west. It lies 200m above sea level between latitudes 4°12' to the north and 1°9' to the south of the equator and between longitudes 29°34' and 35°0' to the east of the Greenwich Meridian.