The republic of Namibia, situated on the south west coast of Africa attained national independence from the former apartheid South African government on 21 March 1990, after many years of political, diplomatic and armed, national liberation struggle.  Namibia is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, the republics of Angola and Zambia to the north and north-east respectively and the republics of Botswana and South Africa to the east and south respectively.