The Republic of Seychelles, a small island state located in the western Indian Ocean, is an archipelago consisting of 115 islands with a landmass of 445 square kilometres. Only four of the larger islands (Mahé, Praslin, La Digue and Silhouette) have a permanent sizeable population. The population is concentrated on Mahé, the principal island, where the administrative centre of Seychelles has been established. Population growth is relatively low at less than 2 percent per year. Seychelles has developed a multiracial society with Christianity as the dominant religion and Creole as the mother tongue. English, French and Creole form the three national languages. Although there have been attempts at diversification, the Seychelles economy depends on tourism.