Zimbabwe is a land-locked country in Southern Africa with an area of 390,757 square kilometres. Zimbabwe has three official languages: English, Ndebele, and Shona. Ndebele and Shona are the official languages of instruction, in those areas where they are predominant, during the first three years (Grades l-3) of primary education, after which English becomes the official medium of instruction. English is also the language of commerce and business and the main language of communication in government.